Hungarian composer and conductor András Derecskei’s works include solo, chamber, choral, opera and symphonic pieces. Among the numerous musical awards he won emerges the 3rd Prize at the Janáček International String Quartet Competition (Czech Republic) in 2006, 6th Prize at the 2015 International Crossover Competition (Germany) and the Special Prize at the 3rd Antal Doráti International Conducting Competition (Hungary) in 2021. His compositions are regularly programmed internationally from year to year. His works were performed in more than 20 countries, often at famous music festivals. Derecskei’s style was described by the media as "known for harmonic flexibility", "unusual musical structures and clear forms", "excellent dramatic build". Sometimes he uses sentimental or jazzy elements as well, and he always expands his musical sight. 

Derecskei András

From the works of the author

Derecskei András


András Derecskei - 2nd String Quartet

András Derecskei - Double Fugue for String Orchestra